2012 Thrower Schedule

7:00-8:30 a.m.            Registration & Breakfast, Hunter Atrium

8:45-9:00 a.m.            Opening Remarks
Interim Dean Robert A. Schapiro, Emory University

9:00-10:00 a.m.           Opening Lecture: Innovation in the Modern Era
Paul R. Michel, Retired Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

10:00-10:15 a.m.          Break

10:15-11:45 a.m.        Panel 1: The Role of Institutions in Fostering and Disseminating Technological Innovation

Professor Margo A. Bagley, University of Virginia (moderator)
Professor Michael A. Carrier, Rutgers University
Professor F. Scott Kieff, George Washington University
Professor Joshua D. Sarnoff, DePaul University
Professor Liza S. Vertinsky, Emory University

11:45-1:00 p.m.            Lunch, Hunter Atrium

1:00-2:30 p.m.               Panel 2: Social Entrepreneurship and the Law: The Role of Legal Policy in Promoting Social Change

Professor Joanna Shepherd Bailey, Emory University (moderator)
Professor Robert A. Katz, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Professor Dennis C. Liotta, Emory University
Professor Dana Brakman Reiser, Brooklyn Law School
Kyle Westaway, Westaway Law

2:30-2:45 p.m.            Break

2:45-4:15 p.m.            Panel 3: Innovative Lawyering: Legal Education and Practice for Tomorrow's World

Professor Timothy P. Terrell, Emory University (moderator)
Professor Daniel M. Katz, Michigan State University
Dean Martin J. Katz, University of Denver
Professor James E. Moliterno, Washington & Lee University
Professor Cynthia E. Nance, University of Arkansas

4:15-6:00 p.m.             Reception, Hunter Atrium