2014 Inspiration Awards

One of the law school's signature events, the Inspiration Awards celebrate members of our community who do extraordinary work in the public interest and provide funding for public interest summer grants.

Now in its 18th year, the event traditionally attracts over 300 people and last year raised enough funds to provide stipends for 36 students who worked in otherwise-unfunded public sector summer jobs.

Honorees and their Presenters

Lifetime Commitment to Public Service Award:  Anne Emanuel 75L, Professor Emerita, Georgia State University College of Law. Anne clerked with Judge Tuttle following her graduation from Emory and in 2011 published Elbert Parr Tuttle:  Chief Jurist of the Civil Rights Revolution.  Presented by:  The Honorable Amy Totenberg

Outstanding Leadership in the Public Interest Award:  Stan Jones, partner at Nelson Mullins.  Stan has been involved in the mental health movement in Georgia since working on numerous gubernatorial and presidential commissions for the Carter family. Presented by:  Jud Graves 75L, Retired Partner, Alston + Bird 

Unsung Devotion to Those Most in Need Award:  Rachel Epps Spears, founding executive director of the Pro Bono Partnership of Atlanta.  Presented by:  Rev. Melanie L. Conner, Executive Director of the Zion Hill Community Development Corporation

Thanks to Our 2014 Donors


  • Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP


  • Frank & Joan Alexander
  • Paul S. Davis Endowed Fund
  • GE Foundation/Matching Gift Program
  • Goico & Bolet, P.C. , in honor of Howard O. Hunter
  • Laura S. Huffman
  • Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • Legal Association for Women Students
  • Norman & Bettina Roberts Foundation
  • Robert & Lillian Schapiro
  • Briggs & Jessica Tobin


  • The Coca-Cola Company
  • Paul J. Murphy & Gia M. Partain
  • Michael & Paula Sarrey
  • Debbie Segal & Randy Cadenhead


  • Alston + Bird LLP
  • Mary Carole Cooney & Henry Bauer
  • Jessica & David Felfoldi
  • Woody & Susan Hunter
  • King & Spalding
  • Nelson Mullins
  • Nelson Mullins Friends
  • Mary Margaret Oliver
  • Michael Perry & Sarah O’Leary
  • David A. Zimmerman


  • Dorothy Toth Beasley, Senior Judge
  • Daniel A. Bloom & Barry Golivesky
  • Paul & Sara Cadenhead
  • Harold T. Daniel, Jr.
  • Jennifer Malinovsky & Brad Wahl
  • Mary F. Radford


  • The Honorable Anne Elizabeth Barnes
  • Jeffrey & Gaylen Baxter
  • Marc Biondi
  • John & Taylor Daly
  • Amy & Peter Dosik
  • Erin East
  • Dr. & Mrs. Lawrence M. Fishman
  • Corey & Ben Hirokawa
  • Marjorie & Ralph Knowles
  • Kerry Kohnen
  • Jeanney M. Kutner
  • Stephen T. LaBriola
  • Aliza Lipson & Seth Finck
  • Sally Evans Lockwood
  • Mental Health America of Georgia
  • Faith Knight Myers & Derrick Myers
  • Sen. Nan Orrock
  • Bobbie Paul
  • Patrise Perkins-Hooker
  • Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Presmanes
  • Pro Bono Partnership of Atlanta Board of Directors
  • Robert B. Remar & Victoria A. Greenhood
  • Claudia S. Saari
  • Haley A. Schwartz
  • Margaret & Derek Scott
  • Dale Snape
  • Roy & Bonnie Sobelson  
  • Strickland Brockington Lewis LLP
  • Troutman Sanders LLP
  • Katie Wood
  • Joann M. Yoon


  • Brenda H. Cole
  • Beth Damon
  • The Honorable Mary Grace Diehl & Michael Jablonski
  • James E. Flynn, Jr.
  • Sue McAvoy
  • Suzanah Pogue
  • Sarah Shalf
  • Rita A. Sheffey


  • Erika Birg
  • Courtney Cutter
  • Martha Grace Duncan
  • Martha & Jim Fagan
  • Richard Herzog & Dr. Laura Kibler-Herzog
  • Seth Kirschenbaum
  • Kay Levine & Jonathan Bookspun
  • Heather T. Little
  • Leonard Mathis
  • J. Christopher Miller
  • Courtney O’Donnell & Brian Green
  • Angela Oliver
  • Nicole Susan Phillis
  • Teemu Ruskola
  • JoAnna Smith
  • Brian Spears
  • Doug Stephens
  • Gary E. Trachten
  • James Arnold Tucker
  • Jeff Young

Former EPIC Inspiration Award Winners


Lifetime Commitment to Public Service: Robbie Dokson, Norman Underwood, Frank Strickland, Terry Walsh, Charlie Lester, Bucky Askew, Steve Gottlieb, Phyllis Holmen, The Hon. Rowland W. Barnes, Bill Brennan, Emmet Bondurant, Mary Ann Oakley, Donald Hollowell, Randolph Thrower, Robert Bomar, Ben F. Johnson Jr., John Cromartie and The Hon. Marvin Shoob

Outstanding Leadership in the Public Interest: Jeff Bramlett, Jan Pratt, Bill Hoffmann, The Hon. Doris Downs, Gerry Weber, John Chandler, Joe Bankoff, John Sibley, The Hon. Norman Fletcher, Debbie Segal, Frank Alexander, Thurbert Baker, Paula Frederick, Mary Margaret Oliver, Marva Jones Brooks, Stephen Bright and Renee Glover

Unsung Devotion to Those Most in Need: Tamara Serwer Caldas, Sue Jamieson, Karen Worthington, Rita Sheffey, Marian Burge, Aimee Maxwell, Sue Colussy, Stephanie Kearns, Sharon Hill, Karen Brown, Jack and Jim Martin, Vicky Kimbrell, Doug Ammar, Kathleen Dumitrescu, Kerry McGrath and Karen Baynes Galvin

Read about the work that your gift supports >>

Register to attend the 2014 Inspiration Awards or make a gift to EPIC >>

If you have questions, please email smcavoy(at)law.emory.edu

2013 Inspiration Awards

2013 Inspiration Awards

The ceremony was held Tuesday, Feb. 5, in Emory Law's Tull Auditorium. Thank you to everyone who made this such a special event and to those who continue to support EPIC.

Click below to see the program video.

Master of Ceremonies: Daniel A. Bloom 04L, Member, Pachman Richardson LLC. 

Lifetime Commitment to Public Service Award: Robert N. “Robbie” Dokson, Shareholder, Ellis Funk, P.C. 

Dokson has an abiding commitment to the Atlanta Legal Aid Society. He began his legal career at ALAS, serving as executive director for six years and as board president, officer and member for more than 30 years. Dokson also was a founding board member of the Justice Center of Atlanta, one of the nation's first mediation programs established in the late 1970s under a grant from the U.S. Department of Justice.

Presented by:  Steve Gottlieb, Executive Director, Atlanta Legal Aid Society.

Outstanding Leadership in the Public Interest Award: Jeffrey O. Bramlett, Partner, Bondurant Mixson & Elmore LLP. 

Bramlett is a renowned trial lawyer who has served as lead counsel for prison inmates and foster children as well as Fortune 100 companies. In the course of 30 years as a practicing attorney, he served as president of the American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia, former national board member of the American Civil Liberties Union and current chair of Georgia’s American Constitution Society board of advisors.

Presented by: Teresa Wynn Roseborough, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, The Home Depot.

Unsung Devotion to Those Most in Need Award: Tamara Serwer Caldas, Deputy Director, Atlanta Volunteer Lawyers Foundation.

Caldas has devoted her legal career to public interest law. She worked with the Southern Center for Human Rights for six years, where she represented indigent clients challenging unconstitutional conditions of confinement and unsanitary conditions in Alabama's and Georgia's prisons and jails. Since joining the Atlanta Volunteer Lawyers Foundation seven years ago, Caldas has worked with legal partners and local courts to protect tenants in foreclosed properties, and has advocated for local and state policies on behalf of low-income tenants and consumers.

Presented by: Marty Ellin, Executive Director, Atlanta Volunteer Lawyers Foundation.