2014 Woodruff Fellows

Sarah O’Donohue

Vanderbilt University, 2010
BA in political science and classical studies

O’Donohue is a policy fellow in the Office of the Georgia Governor, where she assists advisors to the state executive branch on issues regarding public safety, domestic violence and education. She serves as an SAT and ACT instructor and mentor to students in metro Atlanta public schools through the Princeton Review partnership courses. She is a former head resident advisor, a former legislative intern for the Tennessee General Assembly, a former legal advocacy intern for the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights and a former program assistant for the Margaret Cuninggim Women’s Center. O’Donohue served as a member of the Vanderbilt Women’s Center Advisory Board and volunteered at the YWCA domestic violence shelter. She worked to educate others about discrimination and sexual assault through the organization Peer Educators of Project Safe. A member of Phi Beta Kappa and the College Scholars Honors Program, she graduated summa cum laude with honors in the College of Arts and Science. She received the Mary Eleanor Steele Classics Award and the Nora C. Chaffin Award. O’Donohue is the recipient of a Vanderbilt Honors Scholarship, National Merit Scholarship, Thomas J. Watson–IBM Memorial Scholarship, Nancy Penn Lyons Scholarship and Watson-Brown Foundation Scholarship. A native of Atlanta, O’Donohue resides in Marietta, Ga.

Laura Rivera

New York University, 2007
MA in journalism and Latin American studies
Emory University, 2003
BA in political science and Spanish literature

Rivera was a reporter for El Diario/La Prensa in New York, where she wrote news stories and produced videos on local Latino communities and politics. She is a former staff writer for Newsday, co-director for Whose Barrio?, freelancer/intern for The New York Times and producer/correspondent for Cultura Viva, WIPR in San Juan, Puerto Rico. She recently co-directed a series of public service announcements for the Afro-Latin Forum’s Census 2010 campaign. In 2007, Laura participated in The New York Times Student Journalism Institute in Miami, where her story was one of two written by institute participants to be published in The New York Times. While at Emory, she served as president of the Emory University chapter of Amnesty International and secretary of the Emory Latino Student Organization. Born in San Juan, Puerto Rico, Rivera resides in Conyers, Ga.

JoAnna Smith

American University, 2007
BA in law and society, certificate in women, politics and political leadership

Smith is a program co-coordinator for Family Health and Birth Center, a program analyst for the U.S. Department of Transportation and an organizer/director for the D.C. Vagina Monologues. She served as deputy campaign manager for Citizens for Gretchen Lawyer, a consulting and training intern for Men Can Stop Rape, a hotline counselor/hospital advocate for D.C. Rape Crisis Center, a policy assistant for People for the American Way and an intern for the Office of Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton. While at American University, she was executive director of American University Women’s Initiative and Peer Educator for the AU Wellness Center. In 2007, Smith received the Harry S. Truman Scholarship and the Jen Smyeres Woman of the Year Award. She also received the Volunteer of the Year Award at the D.C. Rape Crisis Center and the Rising STAR Award at the Department of Transportation. Born in Cedar Falls, Iowa, Smith resides in Washington, D.C.

Drew Stevens

Baylor University, 2010
BA in sociology, minor in political science

Stevens is an LSAT instructor for Kaplan Test Prep and a project team member for Project 254, a nonprofit organization aimed at promoting local business and poverty alleviation in Waco, Texas. He interned for the Waco District Attorney’s Office and is a former sales associate for Vector Marketing. While at Baylor, he
served as executive service chair for his fraternity and as a member of the Student Advisory Board for Baylor University Campus Kitchens. He also served as Trek Group leader for a Tokyo Mission Trip. Stevens is a recipient of the John S. Belew Award for Outstanding Male in Community Service, the Charles M. and Jean Furr Tolbert Sociology Endowed Scholarship, the Baylor University’s Presidential Scholarship and the Brian C. Pennington Scholarship. A native of Texas, Stevens resides in Waco.