Transfer Students

Students in good standing at other accredited law schools (ABA-AALS) may transfer to Emory Law after their first year if ranked in upper half of their class.

How to Apply

Transfer applicants should complete the online transfer application through the LSAC website: 

Fall 2014 Transfer Application >> 

  • Fall 2014 application deadline:  August 18, 2014.
  • All materials must be submitted through the online application process at, except for the Dean's Certification letter and your official law school transcripts, which must be sent directly to Emory Law.

Application Requirement Changes

  • You may now apply using only one semester of grades.
  • Only one letter of recommendation is required, sent through the LSAC Credential Assembly Service (you may choose to submit one additional letter of recommendation as well).
    • Your letters of recommendation may be the same letters you submitted for your 1L applications to any law schools.
    • If, after review of your application, the admission committee requires a letter from one of your law school professors, you will be notified.

Quick Facts

  • Part-time students must complete the equivalent of a full-time first year curriculum at your institution.
  • Students ineligible for readmission to another law school may not transfer to Emory.
  • No credit is awarded for law coursework completed with a grade lower than C or its equivalent.
  • Transfer students will be credited with acceptable hours earned elsewhere.
  • You may graduate after successfully completing four full semesters of residence and 90 semester hours, at least 58 of which have been completed at Emory.
  • Once you have paid your deposit and committed to Emory Law, you may start to use the Center for Professional Development and Career Strategy immediately.
  • Transfer students are not eligible for scholarship assistance in the first year of enrollment at Emory Law.