August 28, 2009 10:57 Age: 5 yrs

Emory Law Alumnus Named to University Board of Trustees

Jonathan Layne 79B 79L is one of two new members named to the Emory University Board of Trustees. Layne and Susan Cahoon 68C were elected during the board’s June meeting.

Layne is a partner at Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP in Los Angeles. He joined the firm as an associate in 1979. He co-chairs the mergers and acquisitions group and is a member of the firm’s executive committee. He has extensive experience in advising corporate boards and is an expert and frequent lecturer on mergers and acquisitions and corporate and securities law topics.

Layne was selected by Chambers and Partners as a “Leading Mergers and Acquisitions Lawyer” for 2005-2009 and as a “Leading Capital Markets: Debt & Equity Lawyer” for 2007-2009 for its Chambers USA America's Leading Lawyers for Business directories. He also was named among "The Best of the Bar" for Corporate Transactions by the Los Angeles Business Journal.

After receiving his BA in economics from the College of William and Mary in 1975, Layne earned his JD with distinction from the Emory Law and his MBA from Goizueta Business School. He graduated as a member of the Order of the Coif and served as managing editor of the Emory Law Journal. Layne was a member of the Emory Law Advisory Board from 2000-2008.

The 42-member board of trustees oversees the governance and long-range fiduciary health of the University. Alumni trustees serve six years. Nominees are selected by the Emory Alumni Board and submitted to the board of trustees for consideration and approval.

Other Emory Law alumni serving on the Board of Trustees are:
-    Henry L. Bowden Jr. 74L
-    Walter M. Deriso Jr. 68C 72L
-    C. Robert Henrikson 72L
-    Ruth J. Katz 77L
-    Chilton D. Varner 76L

List: <- Back to: News Releases