May 7, 2010 15:14 Age: 4 yrs

Emory Federalism Center Sponsors Roundtable on Financial Reform

Emory’s Center on Federalism and Intersystemic Governance (CFIG) and the Halle Institute co-hosted its annual “Seminar in Federalism and Plural Governance” on April 30 and May 1. This year’s topic was financial regulation and reform, a subject undergoing debate in Congress and much discussed since the recent financial market meltdowns.

The seminar was organized and included presentations by CFIG directors Robert Ahdieh, Robert Schapiro and William Buzbee. Additional presenters included Emory Law professors Jonathan Nash and Fred Tung, and political scientist Jeffrey Staton.

This year’s session focused on the implications of federal and state regulators policing financial markets. Roundtable participants debated the effectiveness of intertwined federal and state supervision of banks, the proposal of a new agency to protect consumers from financial wrongdoing and proposals to consolidate the many regulators, perhaps into a single, monolithic agency. Participants generally highlighted the benefits of retaining state roles and maintaining at least a degree of regulatory overlap and interdependence.

Participants also explored the roles and risks associated with private accounting firms and credit rating agencies critical to the functioning of markets and regulatory oversight. Latitude for market and responsive regulatory innovation was described as essential for markets to remain stable and productive.

In addition to renowned law professors, participants included two Emory Law alumni serving in financial market leadership roles. Richard Neiman 75L is the superintendant of banks for New York State and Frederic Krieger 75L serves as vice president of the Regulatory Risk Group within the New York Stock Exchange. A complete list of participants is below.

Roundtable Participants

Robert Ahdieh - Emory University School of Law
Chris Brummer - Georgetown University Law Center
William Buzbee - Emory University School of Law
Clifford Carrubba - Emory University
Tom Clark - Emory University
Brian Galle - Florida State University College of Law
Howell Jackson - Harvard Law School
Renee Jones - Boston College Law School
Michael Kang - Emory University School of Law
Frederic Krieger 75L - New York Stock Exchange
Jonathan Nash - Emory University School of Law
Richard Neiman 75L - New York State Banking Department
Eric Pan - Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University
Robert Schapiro - Emory University School of Law
Jeffrey Staton - Emory University
Frederick Tung - Emory University School of Law
David Zaring - The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

List: <- Back to: News Releases