June 23, 2010 14:59 Age: 4 yrs

Commencement 2010

Two hundred sixty graduates were honored May 10 during the Emory Law Hooding and Diploma Ceremony. Prior to the Emory Law ceremony, graduates were addressed by California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, who received an honorary doctor of laws.

Frank S. Alexander received this year’s Most Outstanding Professor Award. Jason Esteves 10L, president of the Student Bar Association, received the Most Outstanding Third-Year Student Award.

The Minister Gloria Jean Fowler Angel Award—which recognizes a graduating student who embodies the kindness and grace of former Emory Law employee Gloria Jean Fowler—was awarded to Brandon Goldberg 10L.

Professor Charles A. Shanor received the Emory Williams Teaching Award, which was established in 1972 and is the highest award at Emory for excellence in teaching. The Ben F. Johnson Teaching Award, which recognizes a commitment to teaching and excellence, was presented to L.Q.C. Lamar Professor of Law Peter Hay and Professor Nathaniel E. Gozansky.

Photos from the Hooding and Diploma Ceremony are available at www.law.emory.edu/10diploma. Watch the ceremony on Emory Law’s YouTube Channel.

List: <- Back to: News Releases